Welcome

My name is Nick Doran, and I am the former president of the UCSD Casual Golf Club.

I am going to post rules decisions as I encounter them on the golf course. I am pretty sure that I will be able to come up with at least one rule nugget for each round that I play.

Wednesday, February 19, 2025

2/19/2025 - Balboa

What happens if your tee shot hits the tee marker in front of you?  Everyone (except me) in this group thought you could re-tee, like you had hit a power line.  Nope.

Rule #11.1 applies here.  When the ball hits pretty much anything, you have to play it as it lies.  There is no penalty.

Regarding hitting a power line, the same rule would apply, unless a local rule was in place indicating otherwise.  This is frequently the case when a power line is in play (check the back of the scorecard).  The model local rule, and every instance that I have seen requires the player to re-play the shot when you hit a power line.  It is not optional.  This is Model Local Rule E-11.

I made my standard golf joke when a player in our group hit into the trees on #8 - "Sorry, I left my chainsaw in my other bag."  Obviously you can't cut down trees with a chainsaw while playing golf, but if you did, what rule would you be violating?  Rule #1 says that the player must "Play the course as they find it."  And what would the penalty be?  It appears to be in the hands of the committee, but I think disqualification would be the right call.

 

 

 

 


No comments:

Post a Comment