Conditions are terrible At Carlton Oaks right now. Do not recommend. Some areas were indicated as ground under repair, but there isn't enough white paint in San Diego county to mark everything that should be indicated as GUR.
My playing partner hit into a pile of sticks. My first thought was that they were loose impediments, and he could remove them as long as the ball didn't move. That would not have been possible. But then I remembered that grass cuttings, or other piles of natural materials are considered ground under repair. So free relief...
Then I was wondering if the loose impediment ball moving was still a penalty. They have loosened a lot of rules when you do something accidentally since 2019.
Nope. Rule #15.1b indicates that if the ball is moved when removing loose impediments, then a one stroke penalty is incurred. This does not apply on the putting green (presumably when the ball has been marked?). The rule even indicates that if you have lifted the ball for a legal reason, you cannot remove a loose impediment that would likely have caused the ball to move.
I thought that was interesting, since they have removed so many penalties (double-contact, kicking the ball while searching, accidentally hitting the ball on a practice swing...)
No comments:
Post a Comment