I back-handed a putt in and somehow made double-contact. Double contact used to be a penalty, but isn't any more. Are you allowed to back-hand a putt at all?
Rule 10.1a says "The player must fairly strike at the ball with any part of the head of the club" (emphasis added). Since it doesn't say face, it's okay to use the back of the putter. I figured as much, since you see PGA Tour Pros hit left-handed with a right-handed club when they are against a tree or whatnot. I don't recommend trying that shot without having practiced it. Note that you are not allowed to push, scrape, or scoop the ball.
Rule 10.1a is also where the rules explicitly state that double-contact is not a penalty (as long as it is accidental).
No comments:
Post a Comment